I think before I eat…

It’s noon and I’m hungry. I’m not very familiar with the Bountiful area but I noticed a Chipotle on my way to work today. I went to their website to see what kind of vegetarian options there are and sort of got stuck on their section on treatment of animals. At Chipotle all their meat products are naturally raised and treated humanely. Still, I’m a little bothered by this sentence:

We believe pigs that are cared for in this way enjoy happier, healthier lives and produce the best pork we’ve ever tasted.

We believe pigs that are cared for in this way enjoy happier, healthier lives and produce the best pork we’ve ever tasted.

Sad.

While I’m on the topic, I’ll leave you with this trailer. It’s playing at the Broadway in SLC right now and I really, really want to see it. I don’t cry at movies, but I’m sure I will be at this one.

5 responses to “I think before I eat…

  1. Are they supposed to pretend like the happy pigs don’t turn into pork burritos? They kill two birds (lol. no pun) with one stone, the food lover and the animal lover in one sentence.
    Happy pig=good meat.

    • I understand what you’re saying but depending on the animal lover, they killed one bird and flat out murdered and ate the other one without any feelings or thoughts about life and death…with one stone.

  2. “flat out murdered and ate the other one without any feelings or thoughts about life and death”

    now wait a minute, isn’t that exactly what they’re saying? That they have taken the quality of life as a consideration? Obviously life isn’t about death its about the parts when you are breathing. We can only hope to improve the living portion.

    Anyway, i dont think that statement was meant so much for no- meat animal lover as it is for a conscientious meat-eating animal lover.

    • Yeah I know. I’m realizing that my vegetarianism is suddenly coming with ethical issues I didn’t know I had. So I understand what you’re saying and what they’re saying…I just cannot believe it at the same time.

  3. UPDATE: I saw this and I did cry, a few times. I highly recommend it. However if you’ve read Fast Food Nation and the Omnivore’s Dilemma, there isn’t much more new information.

Leave a Reply

